Voice of an EA – Siva

Voice of an EA – Siva, Mechanical Engineering

… in conversation with Apta

 

Ever since I joined Chegg, I have the satisfaction of a full time job. Chegg stood like a backbone for me. We borrowed money for my father’s treatment and then I could repay the loan with the money I earned at Chegg… Chegg gives me sufficient time to take care of my father and the truck… After joining Chegg, I bought a laptop, we constructed a new house, I bought a washing machine for my Mother, and an air conditioner for my new house… At Chegg, I solve tough level questions so it gives me great confidence in the subject and I am sure I will secure a good job in groups…Working for Chegg is always fun.

How did you come to Chegg?

My plan was to be an entrepreneur and start my own business and I wasn’t interested in joining a private company. My father owns a second hand truck and he is also the truck driver. The truck was the only source of bread-winning for the family. Unfortunately, my father was down with Paralysis and the family was in deep financial struggle. There was no money and no proper house. The responsibility fell on my shoulders to take the reins and lead the family. Though I completed my graduation in B.Tech, I worked as a truck driver to continue my father’s business. It was in those tough times, my friend introduced me to Chegg.

Where else do you work?

I don’t work elsewhere. I am preparing for group competitive exams (for Grade I or II govt. sector gazette jobs). I prepared for GATE but later I discontinued as I wasn’t certain about securing a job. To qualify in GATE I have to work at least 14 hours a day in order to achieve a good score. Having other priorities and responsibilities in the plate, I could not dedicate so much time for GATE.

Ever since I joined Chegg, I have the satisfaction of a full time job, yet attending my priorities and responsibilities.

1

How much time do you spend a day on authoring? What is your daily routine?

For Chegg Q&A, I work for 6 to 8 hours. I use the rest of the day for preparing for groups exams.

From early hours in the morning up to 9AM, I spend on Q&A. On an average, I answer 12 questions a day. Then I go to the truck shed. My truck is not a new one. It breaks down often and I had to spend sizeable amount to fix to ensure that the business doesn’t halt. Then I go for my group classes. Later I again spend some time on Q&A. Last month I solved 160 questions.

Could you tell us a memorable and a challenging moment in your tenure?

It was the time when Vizag was hit by a big cyclone called Hudhud. The city was in ruins and there was limited power. But I managed to solve a thousand questions in a month and I earned a huge amount. This was very memorable. The next month, I solved 700 questions.

Another moment was when Chegg announced an offer; I could earn a sizeable amount.

How does Chegg help you in your progress?

In the beginning, I wasn’t so good at using computer. I sincerely worked hard without giving up. Very soon, I started to earn 30 to 40K every month. Chegg stood like a backbone for me. We borrowed money for my father’s treatment and then I could repay the loan with the money I earned at Chegg. I am happy that my father is recovered and healthy now. Chegg gives me sufficient time to take care of my father and the truck.

2

3

How did Chegg help you grow personally and professionally?

Initially, I did not have a laptop. I use to borrow from my friend. After joining Chegg, I bought a laptop, we constructed a new house, I bought a washing machine for my Mother, and an air conditioner for my new house.

At Chegg, I solve tough level questions so it gives me great confidence in the subject and I am sure I will secure a good job in groups.

4

5.png

Do you recommend others to join as an EA? If yes, why?

Yes, I already recommended many of my friends.

What about procrastinating your work?

No, I never procrastinate. But I often get distracted by my household chores.

If you get a job in Groups would you still continue working for Chegg?

Yes, I will definitely continue with Chegg because working for Chegg is always fun.

6

Would you opt for an opportunity to take up a day job of a full time expert in Chegg?

I would, but my priority is to take care of my father and the truck first.

Leave a Reply

