Voice of an EA – Rama Rao

As an Expert Answerer, I spend most of my time on TBS and Q&A. With Chegg, I find working very convenient as I have the freedom to work from any corner and any time. Chegg site is open 24/7 and I can work at any time of the day… Chegg makes me a master of all subjects related to my stream. Here, I get to answer questions from every subject related to my stream… With Chegg Q&A, timings are not fixed. I can work anytime of the day. I can also take care of other priorities at home like taking care of my parents, meeting my friends, and going out for a movie… 


 

Q. How did you come to know about Chegg?

Post-graduation, I was searching for job like any other fresher. I am good at my subject and one friend introduced me to Chegg. I also checked the website and contacted the Chegg office in Vizag.

Q. Are you working anywhere else apart from being an Expert Answerer?

I work as a guest faculty in a private college.

Q. How is working for Chegg better than working elsewhere?

As an Expert Answerer, I spend most of my time on TBS and Q&A. Were it a college, I would have been time-bound, but with Chegg, I find working very convenient as I have the freedom to work from any corner and any time. Chegg site is open 24/7 and I can work at any time of the day. I work 6 to 8 hours a day, for Chegg.

Q. What time do you spend the most answering on Chegg Site?

I spend my entire morning answering on Q&A board, and go to the college and teach in the afternoon.

Q. How is teaching in a college environment different from teaching in Chegg?

At college, I limit myself to teach only one subject per semester/ year and I can be a master of only one subject, whereas Chegg makes me a master of all subjects related to my stream. Here, I get to answer questions from every subject related to my stream. It is challenging but a lot of fun.

1

Q. What kind of difficulties do you face while answering?

Sometimes, I receive regular questions and I can do it with my eyes shut. Some are research type of questions, which require spadework. As an expert, I should be able to answer every question in spite of the difficulty level. I put all my efforts to give a helpful answer to the student within the stipulated time.

Q. How did answering help you in your subject?

In my college days, I only had theoretical knowledge of the subject but the application knowledge was minimal. In Chegg, all questions are application-oriented. This exposure was lacking even when I was in College. Thanks to Chegg for the expansive exposure.

2

Q. After completing post-graduation in Computer Science, people usually look for software-related job.  What made you choose an academic related Job?

After my PG, I too was on the look-out for a software job. Unfortunately, I lacked work experience. Even though I was a fresher, Chegg gave me the opportunity.  Chegg gives opportunity for freshers. Chegg is a wonderful platform, such that I never had a thought of looking for jobs elsewhere.

3

Q. How did you improve financially? How did Chegg make your life better?

I cleared all my debts with my earnings at Chegg. I live with my elderly parents and support them. I also bought a Bike – Honda (Smiles). Here, the more I work, the more I am paid. Work More, Earn More. It is a win-win situation. This is what I like about Chegg.

4

Q. How do you balance personal life and professional life?

With Chegg Q&A, timings are not fixed. I can work anytime of the day. I can also take care of other priorities at home like taking care of my parents, meeting my friends, and going out for a movie. I also work for an NGO, which is involved in social service to humanity.

5

Q. Did you receive poor rating for your work? How did you respond?

Once I worked on a difficult level textbook for which I didn’t receive a very good rating and the work was sent back. I understood that I had some scope for improvement. I received some constructive feedback in the QC report. I took responsibility for quality of the solutions, reworked and re-submitted. This time, I got a good rating.

Q. Did you ever recommend Chegg to anyone?

Yes, I did recommend Chegg to Engineering graduates, who showed interest in improving their subject knowledge.

Q. Cite one memorable moment?

Today is really memorable. Chegg inviting me for the ‘Voice of an EA interview’ is the BIGGEST MEMORABLE MOMENT for me. I feel very proud now. Also last year, November 2015, was my most successful month. Despite the cold winter, I could answer around 270 questions. That was the time when I earned my highest.

chegg-makes-me-a-master-of-all-subjects-related-to-my-stream-1

Q. Did you ever feel bored of answering?

Well, basically, I am passionate about teaching. Even from my college days, I used to give private tuitions to my juniors and school children. Chegg has provided me with a platform to teach international students. It is the 21st century style of teaching, and thus is very interesting. Teaching is a noble profession, so I never procrastinate and only aim for producing quality work and being more reliable.

7

Q. If Chegg gives you opportunity for a fulltime job, will you avail?

Yes. Definitely!!!


 

One thought on “Voice of an EA – Rama Rao

Leave a Reply

