Voice of an EA – Mohan Dev

A

Q. How are you introduced to Chegg?

I’m Mohan Dev and I was introduced to Chegg by my friend, who has been working as an Expert Answerer. I was impressed when my friend said that Chegg is a haven for Subject Enthusiasts like me.

After joining, I realized what he said was absolutely true. I am very happy that I am an Expert Answerer for Chegg.

1

Q. What else do you do apart from being an EA?

I did my Ph.D in botany. I worked as a Bio Infomatic Analyzer for Polaris, based in Noida. Later, I moved to Vizag and opened a prenatal-molecular diagnostics Lab.

I also worked as a guest faculty at a University.

Q. How do you balance your personal and professional life?

The Chegg Q&A board is very comfortable to work on. I love working during nights. I try to answer as many questions as I can in the night. The Chegg team maintains a good rapport with me and the communication lines are always open. I get seven hours of sleep and I reach my lab at 1 PM. I sometimes answer questions even while traveling in the bus.

2

3

Q. How did Chegg help you in your overall growth?

I majored in genetics. When I started working on Bio Informatics, I feared losing grip on Genetics. If you don’t use it, you’ll lose it, right? Chegg came to my rescue and helped me regain my confidence levels as I answer genetic-related questions. On the Question and Answer board, I receive all levels of questions related to genetics, molecular biology, and botany. Trying to answer all the skipped questions strengthened my subject knowledge, writing skills, and teaching ability.

4

Q. What do you like the most about Chegg?

At Chegg, I get to study new and advanced topics related to genetics, which I never heard of in my college days. I learned to use new statistical software to answer questions after joining Chegg. Chegg is helping me expand my knowledge.

Q. Cite a challenging moment.

A question on Gene Mapping was one of the most fascinating questions I have ever faced. A true genetic student would love to take up such challenging questions. I managed to solve it and got a star rating. I felt I deserve a pat on the back.

Q. How does your lab work help your teaching work at Chegg?

A Genetic teacher with hands-on lab experience is a rare gem. Textbooks at Chegg are practical-oriented and only a teacher with a hands-on lab experience would be the right one to answer questions from such books. At Chegg, I am able to cater to international students and this is something I take pride in.

Q. How did Chegg help you financially?

Of course, I am financially well off now, thanks to Chegg. Recently, we celebrated wedding anniversary of our parents and I gifted them Golden Couple Rings. (Smiles)

I live with my parents and take care of them. My father is a retired teacher and my mother is a home-maker.

Q. Cite a memorable moment.

In one night, I solved 38 difficult level questions. That was the month I earned the most.

Q. Have you ever get bored of answering?

Never! Genetics is a very interesting subject and one can never get bored.

Q. Have you ever recommended Chegg to anyone?

I did. I introduced my cousin. She once came home and saw me working on Chegg Q&A board and then she found it interesting and applied for the position of EA.

Q. What are your plans for your future?

I wanted to start an R&D lab and settle in Vizag. Earlier, I got opportunities to work for National Institute of Genetics in Japan. However, as I have to look after my parents and so I had to forgo the opportunity. Come what may, I would never discontinue working for Chegg because Chegg helps me remain in touch with my favorite subject. Chegg is always special to me! (Smiles)

5


 

Leave a Reply

