Voice of an EA –Jyothi

Q. How were you introduced to Chegg?

I am Jyothi Pradhan. I work for Chegg as an Expert Answerer (EA) in Biology. I owe it to my friend who introduced me to Chegg. Actually, he was called for an interview, but unfortunately couldn’t make it to the final round. Nevertheless, he was so impressed by Chegg that he encouraged me to apply for a job at Chegg.

When I came to enquire for a fulltime opportunity, I was told that there were no vacancies in Biology. Fortunately, I was informed about the role of Expert Answerer – a work from home opportunity. Without further delay, I applied for the job, cleared the screening test with a good score and got selected. This is my first job and I love it.

Q. What else are you doing?

I am pursuing a bachelor’s degree in Education (B.Ed.) at Andhra University as I want to become a teacher in the government sector.

Q. What do you like about Chegg?

As a fresher, the subject is still fresh in my mind and I am happy to apply it at Chegg.

Working from home is also a great opportunity. I have enough time to concentrate on my studies and other household chores. My friends feel jealous, when they see me answering peacefully and earning from home. I can work with less pressure and at my own pace. I am also decently paid for the work I do.

1

Q. How did Chegg help you in your overall growth?

On the Chegg Question and Answer (Q&A) board, I get bombarded with challenging questions from various concepts related to my subject. Answering on the Chegg Q&A board helps me to improve my subject knowledge. I gain a lot of confidence in my subject as I keep studying in-depth in order to answer those questions. To answer on the Q&A board, one should be spontaneous, have strong subject-knowledge foundation, and eager to help the students.

2

Once I was posed with a medical related question on heart pumping. I knew that it would take a lot of time to explain to the student in detail. I did a quick research on the topic and gave it a best shot. To my surprise, the student gave me thumbs up and I felt so happy!

On the Q&A board, students ask a variety of questions related to all areas of my subject and this is how we learn. I owe a great deal to Chegg, in this regard.

3

The territory team maintains a good rapport and the lines of communication are always open. They quickly respond to all our queries.

Q. How is Chegg helping you in your pursuit of becoming a teacher?

Chegg provides me a dynamic platform to apply my teaching skills which I learnt in my B.Ed. A good teacher reads the mind of the students and develops student-friendly answers. Not every student has equal grasping abilities. A good teacher should be able to break a tough concept into bitable size steps and make it simple for the students. A certain concept may be a cake walk for a teacher, but it might be rocket science for a student – and so the teacher should give an answer such that students of all levels can easily understand the subject.  The language should be simple but not scholarly.

4

Teaching is the same whether online or classroom. When we are teaching online, the student is not physically present – so the teacher should anticipate the doubts of the students and put notes to address them in the answer.

Q. How do you balance your studies and working for Chegg?

For me, 1 AM to 5:30 AM is an ideal time to concentrate on answering questions on the Chegg Q&A board. There is a high inflow of questions during that time. I go to college in the morning and come home by 1PM. At night, I sleep early and wake up by 1AM to work on the answer board. I also spend two hours in a coaching center every evening to prepare for exams.

Q. Tell me about your family?

I have two elder brothers who are employed in different cities. My Father works for the Railways and lives in Rayagada. I live in Vizag with my mother – a homemaker, who is a source of constant support. She makes the home conducive for me to work and encourages me to work. She is the one who wakes me up so that I start my work afresh. My parents are proud that I am working for Chegg. I proudly say to my friends that I am an employee of a Multinational company, Chegg.

5

Q. Have you introduced anyone to Chegg?

Yes, I have introduced my brother to Chegg. He works for a Pharmacy company. He is equally good at the subject and has started working as an Expert Answerer.

Q. Have you ever felt bored of answering?

I really enjoy answering on the Chegg Q&A board. Anyone who wants to improve his/her subject would never get bored of answering.

6

Q. Have you ever received appreciation for your answering?

Yes, I received appreciation from the students. Students give thumbs up when they like the answer and leave comments like – “Answer is very good”, “This is very helpful”, “Thank you very much”. I feel so good when I get such comments.

7

Q. Suppose Chegg gives you a fulltime opportunity, would you avail?

Yes I would be grateful, if Chegg gives me a fulltime opportunity – but it will take at least one year for me to be relieved from other priorities to work fulltime.


 

Leave a Reply

