Voice of an EA – Vamsi

Voice of an EA - Vamsi

Q. How are you introduced to Chegg?

I am Vamsi. I have an M. Tech in Electrical Engineering from Andhra University. My friends who are working as Expert Answerers for Chegg introduced me. I have seen them working on the Chegg Question & Answer Board many times and found it very interesting. I also browsed the web to understand the nature of work at Chegg. My friends guided me with the joining procedure.

I am a super whiz in Math. My friends call me a human calculator. I can do complex calculations within seconds without the aid of a calculator. Currently, I am an active Expert Answerer solving questions on the Chegg Q&A Board. I am comparatively solving more number of questions than my friends. This is my first job and I am very satisfied.

1

2

Q. What made you choose Chegg over other core jobs?

I found my niche in teaching Math and solving subject related problems. I used to help my fellow students to prepare for their exams during my college days. Whenever they got stuck in solving subject related problems, they used to approach me.

3

Moreover, I love Math from my childhood. I used to get full marks right from my school days. I also won some prestigious awards/certificates in Math. I studied in a college where the faculty hardly took classes. We used to get very less help from our professors and so we had to study on our own. The college has a beautiful campus with a lot of trees. It has a good library, where we used to get books and study under the trees. Even on the night before the exam, all our friends used to gather in a room and grapple all night with the books. I used to help them with problematic concepts and they used to help me with theoretical concepts. This nature of study turned out to be a blessing in disguise for me as I mastered the subject. My friends used to approach me to clear all their problem-related doubts and I soon became very famous in my college. Even top rankers in our college used to seek my help.

The motto of Chegg is also to help students whenever they get stuck and so I felt this is where I should be. I have been trying for a faculty job in the government sector but I don’t find any hope. I am not interested in software related jobs and so I ignored all the opportunities that I got. If Chegg gives me a full-time offer, I would definitely avail.

5

Q. How is your experience with the Chegg Q&A Board?

Daily from 3 AM to 8 AM, I work on the Chegg Q&A Board. I take a break for an hour to freshen up and resume work till 12:30 PM. I receive various types of questions of all levels. Some of them are problematic and few are theory-based. I try to break a tough solution into smaller steps to make it easier for the student to understand. Other questions are of lesser difficulty and take less time to solve.

6

I have a good quality rating. I also receive feedback on my content from the In-House Chegg team – they provide helpful suggestions that enable me to further improve my answering. Chegg provides an exciting platform where I do what I really like. I go to bed by 10:30 PM so that I can wake up early to grab as many questions as I can.

7

Q. Cite a challenging moment.

Every time I face a difficult problem, I consider it as an opportunity to grow. Once I faced a question related to a murder incident and it required me to determine the time of the murder considering all the given parameters. I took some to think over and finally managed to solve it. I patted my back for solving it right. The student also commented saying – “Thank you, it is helpful and I really appreciate.” I like taking up challenging questions – especially the skipped ones. I answered about 1000 questions last month. After joining Chegg, I have learned new software to solve questions.

Q. Share some interesting incidents from your personal life?

I also like playing games like Chess and solving puzzles. I won the first prize in a state level Chess tournament. I also won many intercollege and interuniversity Chess titles. In my past time, I play badminton with friends. My parents always encourage me to do whatever I am interested in. My father is a government employee and works in Sericulture – it is the production of raw silk by raising silkworms. My mother is a homemaker. My brother is a Software Engineer. We all live in Vizag. I have done all my schooling, college, and University from Vizag. I used to be a very active participant in co-curricular activities in College. I used to assist my professors especially during conferences and workshops in our college.

Q. How Chegg helped you in your overall growth?

Answering on the Chegg Q&A board definitely improved my subject skill. I learned some advanced topics related to differential equations and polar coordinates in order to solve problems.

I am also more stable now financially. As I am living with my parents, I do not have to financially contribute to the family and so I just save all my earnings in the bank.

Moreover, Chegg is the only source of income for me. Working from home is another good opportunity for me to wisely plan my professional and private life. I have ample amount of time to concentrate on other priorities – like preparing for GATE or SSC and making time for recreation, which is very necessary for life.

I get time to read novels online and also watch movies. I like movies where one actor plays multiple roles. Kamal Hassan, Vikram, and Venkatesh are my favorite South Indian actors. My parents are very happy that I am working for Chegg. They also encourage me to try for a full-time job at Chegg.

Q. Have you ever introduced anyone to Chegg?

Yes! My brother is very much interested in working on the Chegg Q&A board. He has recently joined in a software company and he hardly finds time to spend on answering. As the days go by, he will ensure making time for Q&A. I introduced to my friends – they are now EAs for Electrical Subjects.

Q. Have you ever been bored of answering?

During the weekends, when the questions inflow slows down, I get bored. So, I shut down and go out with my friends for a movie. I hang out with my friend who recently secured a rank in Indian Administrative Service and have a profitable time.

Q. If you get a better opportunity would you quit Chegg?

My goal is to settle in a government sector job. Securing a government job happens when pigs fly (laughs). Nevertheless, I am still trying my best. I will never discontinue answering on the Chegg Q&A because it is helping me to be in touch with my subject.

8


 

Leave a Reply

