Voice of an EA – Chandana

Voice of an EA - Chandana.png

Q. How are you introduced to Chegg?

I am Chandana. I heard about Chegg from my colleague. When I surfed the net to know more about Chegg, I was captivated by the role of an Expert Answerer – a work from home option even for freshers, work available 24/7, answering questions posted by students. I have an M. Pharmacy Degree from Andhra University, Vizag. I was amongst the top performers at my college. Now, I am working as an Expert Answerer in Biology, answering questions on the Chegg Question and Answer (Q&A) Board. I am privileged to be a Chegg Expert Answerer (EA). Initially, I was very curious about this new online teaching role, as I had no prior exposure to online teaching. I only knew that it was an innovative approach of imparting knowledge to students and so I joined. Chegg gives me a platform to showcase my subject skill and help international students when they get stuck with the subject.

Q. Have you worked anywhere else before joining Chegg?

I worked as a chemist in a pharmacy company for one and a half years in Vizag. I used to document a lot of processes and procedures. I was dissatisfied with the nature of work as it was mostly irrelevant to my expertise and there was a meager scope of applying my knowledge. I was planning to leave the job and move on in life. My situation was quite desperate. I could not imagine sitting idle at home, wasting my knowledge, after completing these academic milestones. If I did not use my knowledge, I would lose it. So, I was looking for a job where I could use my subject knowledge. It was during that time Chegg knocked on my door.

Q. Share something about your family.

I hail from Eluru but now am living in Vizag. I am married and have a three year old son. My husband works as an Assistant Manager for a pharmaceutical company. He is very supportive and very happy that I am working for Chegg. He is also an academician and always seeks to brush up his subject skill. His job is very demanding so he doesn’t find time to work for Chegg. Otherwise, he is also interested in becoming an expert answerer like me. In the weekends, we usually take out a few moments for some family time. Chegg has become an integral part of my life as it keeps me working on the Q&A board even on the weekends.

Q. How do you balance your personal and professional life?

Before joining Chegg, the mundane routine was boredom for me. All day, I used to manage my household chores and then take care of my son. Most of the time was wasted without doing anything productive.

On the contrary, life became more vibrant and meaningful after joining Chegg. I am dedicating all my free time to answering questions on the Chegg Q&A board.

1

I quickly finish off my household activities and log on to the Chegg Q&A board. Answering keeps me on my toes always because of the passion I have towards the subject. On an average, I answer 20 questions a day. I keep my son busy with some activity so that he won’t disturb me.

When I was working full-time in the previous company, I had faced difficulty in simultaneously managing my responsibilities at home and at work. I could not devote enough time to my baby. I signed my son up in a play school where he used to spend the entire day. I felt that I should not deprive him of a mother’s care and so, in keeping him in view, I resigned my job in order to spend time with him.  Later on, I got an opportunity from my college to serve as a lecturer but my circumstances weren’t very conducive, so I rejected the offer.

Chegg offered me an opportunity to work from home, which was a blessing in disguise. My personal activities would not get disturbed and I could strike the perfect work-life balance. I could spend quality time with my relatives and friends too. In the case of emergencies, I could take a break and immediately attend to it.

2

Q. Narrate your journey so far with Chegg.

I work on the Chegg Q&A board in the morning and in the afternoon. I also work in the night once everybody has went to bed, as this is the time when I can concentrate more on answering questions. I do not like to procrastinate at work. I first finish my targets and only then I attend to my personal work.

I got adapted to the nature of work very soon and I gained confidence in answering questions on the Chegg Q&A board. I answer questions from the cozy corner of my home without any mental stress. Even during my initial days, I got appreciation from the students and I felt very happy.

3

Biology is so profound and multi-disciplinary. I receive questions related to various subjects of biology like – genetics, biochemistry, biotechnology, anatomy, physiological science, nursing, and microbiology. The questions I receive are application-oriented and interesting. In the process of answering, I have been exploring new depths in the subject. I expanded my knowledge in topics like the evolution of species in biological anthropology as well as the neural mechanism behind the memory for emotions in neuroscience. This is a great opportunity to explore and learn. Skipping is the last thing I would do. (Smiles)

4

Moreover, Chegg has a teaching environment. It is not enough to be knowledgeable. One should have the ability to teach online too. Online teaching is an art. It is important to understand the mind of the student and put notes for all the confusing points in the answer. I used to give seminars in the college and I know how to clearly convey the point to the students. I keep students in mind and develop the answers.

Q. Cite a memorable moment.

Receiving my first ever report from the Chegg In-House team on the answers posted by me, was very memorable. The Chegg In-House team is very efficient in evaluating my answers. I got a full rating and that was very memorable and encouraging. It also boosted my confidence increased my passion for answering.

Q. Share a challenging moment.

Once I received a question and the student mentioned that he desperately needed the answer to complete the assignment.

It was a case study about diabetic people who consume carbonated drinks and the kind of diseases they are prone to. It was a data interpretation related problem and I needed to provide a lot of data about the observations, the method I followed to solve it, its advantages and disadvantages. Finally, I managed to solve it within the stipulated time. The student was overjoyed and expressed his thankfulness.

Every time I approach a question on the Chegg Q&A Board, I first try to get the intent right and then I take time to recollect whatever I know about the question. I also refer to books and online resources. Within the stipulated time, I frame a student-friendly answer.

One should be a sincere student and keep updating knowledge in order to teach the students on the Chegg Q&A board. It is only then one can sustain in Chegg.

Q. How did Chegg help you in your overall growth?

Apart from improving my subject and teaching skills, I have gained financially. Previously, my husband was the sole breadwinner for the family. Now that I am earning, my family is much more stable.

Q. Suppose Chegg gives you a full-time opportunity, would you avail?

Chegg is a place where I can truly unleash my full potential and showcase my talent, which was lacking elsewhere. Here, when I give my knowledge, I gain exponential knowledge in return along with a good pay. I would never let go of such a good opportunity.

Moreover, interacting with international students is another great opportunity for me to improve my knowledge. Chegg has already paved the right path for my growth.

5

One thought on “Voice of an EA – Chandana

  1. Delighted to know your experience with Chegg. I also am a MNE at Chegg Biology. I can relate to your statements. Answering questions on Chegg Q/A has changed my life altogether. Being a chronic illness warrior with a deteriorating health condition, it has given me HOPE and self-worth. I am happy to be associated with Chegg.

    Like

Leave a Reply

