Voice of an EA – Mahesh

Voice of an EA - Mahesh.png

Q. How are you introduced to Chegg?

I am Mahesh. My friend, who is a Chegg employee, introduced me to this fascinating role of an Expert Answerer at Chegg. He told me that Chegg is an awesome platform for subject experts to teach subject to the international students.

1

I signed up through ‘Refer a Friend’ link available on the Chegg MN India Newsletter. Fortunately, I cleared the interview and donned the role of Expert Answerer. I have been working for more than a year.

Q. Where else do you work apart from Chegg?

I work as an assistant professor in an Engineering College near Vizag. I hold a Master’s Degree in Biochemistry. I am also pursuing a Ph.D. in Biotechnology.

Q. Explain your experience with Chegg.

It has been an amazing journey, so far. I receive a wide variety of questions ranging from medium level to high level on the Chegg Question and Answer Board. Exposure to questions of international standards is a rare opportunity. These questions are application-oriented and interesting. Solving such questions has helped me gain tremendous knowledge and grip on the subject and I’m truly thankful to Chegg.

The questions are thought provoking and feed for the brain. In the process of answering, I have also learned various new concepts related to my subject. Once I received a case study on determination of protein molecular weight by affinity chromatography using SDS page technique. I did a good analysis with the given data and finally managed to answer it. This is like working in a real time laboratory setup and it is quite impressive. I am totally satisfied with my professional life at Chegg. I also improved my computer skill, typing skill, and writing skills while answering on the Chegg Q&A board. 

2

Q. Cite a memorable moment.

In one month, I solved a sizable number of complex questions. Simultaneous, I gather a lot of relevant information for my Ph.D. thesis from answering these questions on the Chegg Q&A board. I can gladly say that the Chegg Q&A Board has helped me in my Ph.D. research.

In fact, I am doing research in the area of fermentation (Production of Enzymes – Converting B- blood group to O- blood group). This is truly memorable for me and a blessing in disguise.

3

Q. What is your daily routine?

I wake up at 5AM and I start working on the Chegg Question and Answer Board. As said, I go to teach at the college around 10 AM. In the evening, I again return to answering on the Chegg Q&A Board and answer as many as I can.

Even in the college, whenever I don’t have a class and get some free time, I go to the library and start answering on the Chegg Q&A board.  Chegg is helping me to make the best use of my free time. It is like earning on the move.

Q. Share something about your family.

I’m married and I have a 10 year old son. My wife runs a tuition center at home and teaches for a couple of hours in the evening. She holds a master’s degree in literature. We made our house conducive for tuitions and also to work for the Chegg Q&A board. I assign some homework for my son and monitor him while I work on the Chegg Q&A board. Twice a week, we go out for shopping to buy household stuff. We also plan a date night and then go to the theater to watch a movie. We dine at a restaurant. We also go to play on the beach, usually on the weekend.

We meet our household expenses, with the earning I get from my college. I have opened a recurring deposit for my son and I am saving all my earnings from Chegg for my son’s future.

Q. How do you balance teaching in college and answering on the Chegg Q&A board?

I love teaching the subject whether orally in a classroom or online on the Chegg Q&A board. Having one-on-one live interaction in a classroom setup helps me to understand the mind of a student. Addressing students in a classroom made me a better teacher. Even when I answer questions on the Chegg Q&A board, I answer questions bearing students in mind. I address all the student confusion points and make it easy for the student to follow.

Likewise, if I had answered any interesting question on the Chegg Q&A board, I share the question with my students and ask them to give it a try. Thus, Chegg questions are also helping my students to sharpen their subject skill.

Answering questions on the Chegg Q&A board satisfy the teacher in me. Like any teacher, I try to provide a simplified answer such that even a below average student could easily understand the point.

4

5

Q. Cite a challenging moment.

Once a student posted a research article on DNA finger printing and asked me to interpret its data and answer the given questions. The article wasn’t very easy and so I took a while to understand the content. No sooner I finished reading the article, I started answering the questions. I noticed that the time was running out and so I was quite tensed. Finally, I could submit the answer within the time limit but in the last minute.

Student was extremely satisfied with my answer and gave me thumbs up. It was quite an exciting experience.

Q. Have you ever received a poor rating?

In the initial days, I hastily gave a direct answer to a question without giving necessary explanation and I received a poor rating. Later, I regretted and never repeated.

Q. Have you introduced anyone to Chegg?

I recommended two experts to join as Expert Answerers – one from Physics and one from Biology. Now, they are earning more than what I do. They have observed me working on the Chegg Q&A board and were impressed with the role of EA and they signed up.

Q. Have you ever felt bored of answering?

The questions are very interesting and so I usually do not get bored of answering.

Q. Suppose Chegg gives you a fulltime opportunity, would you avail?

It is a definite YES! I would be grateful, if Chegg gives me a fulltime opportunity.


 

Leave a Reply

